Find us on Google+

Wednesday, August 8, 2012

The Heart Chakra

Hello and welcome! Our recent discussions have been geared towards our chakra system and how it works, as well as the associations of the root, sacral, and solar plexus chakras, and ways we can open and balance them. In this blog, I'm going to provide you with some information about the Heart Chakra!

Picture by Gloria Gypsy, Deviant Art
The Heart Chakra, or Anahata, is green in color and is located at the center of our chest. The heart chakra represents love in all of its many forms throughout the entire span of our lifetime(s), as well as the kindness and affection that we give and receive. When this chakra is open, we live with compassion and harmony. An under-active heart chakra leaves us feeling cold and distant, while an over-active chakra tends to smother others or is based on selfish needs.

Emotional attributes include love, joy, inner peace, and calmness. Ailments that manifest due to an inactive heart chakra include heart or lung disease, allergies, breathing issues like asthma or sleep apnea, chest pain, pneumonia, hypertension, circulatory or immune system disorders, and upper back pain. Imbalances over time can lead to heart and breast cancer.

To open and balance the heart chakra you can use the affirmation, “I am pure unconditional love.” Hug yourself. Practice gratitude. Love and support the child within. Do volunteer work that has meaning for you. Smile and say hello to strangers, and always express your love for others. By sincerely opening your heart to everything you experience without judgment or condemnation, healing can occur.

If you like stones and crystals, emerald, jade, peridot, rose quartz, aventurine, malachite, kunzite, unakite, and moldavite are excellent for the heart chakra. Incense that aids the health of this chakra includes yarrow, jasmine, lavender, orris root, and marjoram. Essential oils are eucalyptus and rose.

For the heart chakra you can use the meditation previously mentioned in the Solar Plexus blog, this time focusing your awareness to the heart, and imagining a beautiful emerald green radiating from your chest. Remember to remain non-judgmental about any thoughts, feelings, or sensations you may experience during meditation. This meditation is all about acceptance. If you see any dark or dull areas within the green chakra, create a green paint brush in your mind and touch it up until it shines brightly. During this meditation, feel free to place any of the above mentioned stones on your chest, and burn some incense to set the mind at ease. Lavender is one of my favorites for this!

Thanks for stopping by and checking out this blog on the heart chakra! I hope you find this information beneficial. Next time, we'll be discussing the Throat Chakra! Until then, my beautiful and peaceful ones~


1 comment: